The OHBM Open Science Special Interest Group

Dedicated to promoting and supporting open science within our community

Learn more


Open science is an umbrella.

We're here to help grow the community supporting it.

Open data Sharing neuroimaging data isn't easy, but we can make it easier. We're interested in understanding how OHBM members share data, where they encounter difficulties, and what kinds of new infrastruce and ethics can make next-generation data-sharing possible.

Open code Analysis code is often a second-class citizen in neuroimaging research, but we can change that. We help to teach scientists best-practices in software development—and how those practices can result in real-world gains in research quality and output.

Open publishing Papers shouldn't hide behind paywalls. We want to help create solutions to enable new, open-acess platforms and to facilitate free information.

Our team 2023

The people behind the OSSIG

Koen Haak


Affiliation: Donders Institute for Brain Cognition and Behaviour, Radboud University Medical Center, Nijmegen, The Netherlands

Andrea Gondova


Affiliation: Université de Paris Cité, NeuroDiderot INSERM; UNIACT Neurospin CEA; Paris, France

Linden Parkes


Affiliation: University of Pennsylvania

Yu-Fang Yang

Hackathon Co-Chair

Affiliation: Division of Experimental Psychology and Neuropsychology, Department of Education and Psychology, Freie Universität Berlin

Anibal Sólon Heinsfeld

Hackathon Co-Chair

Affiliation: Department of Psychology & Department of Computer Science, The University of Texas at Austin, USA

Subapriya Suppiah

Open Science Room Co-Chair

Affiliation: Universiti Putra Malaysia

Selma Lugtmeijer

Open Science Room Co-Chair

Affiliation: Brock University, Department of Psychology, Canada

Junhao Wen (Hao)

Hybridization Chair

Affiliation: University of Southern California

Fernando A. Barrios

Inclusivity Officer

Affiliation: Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Instituto de Neurobiología, Mexico

Kangjoo Lee

Inclusivity Officer

Affiliation: Yale University, Department of Psychiatry, USA

Nur Shahidatul Nabila binti Ibrahim

Community Liason Officer

Affiliation: Universiti Putra Malaysia

Almudena Ramírez Haro

Community Liason Officer


Nils Muhlert

Chair Elect

Affiliation: University of Manchester

Subapriya Suppiah

Secretary Elect

Affiliation: Universiti Putra Malaysia

Yi-Ju Lee (Jean)

Treasurer Elect

Affiliation: Institute of Statistical Science, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan

Qing Wang (Vincent)

Hackathon Co-Chair Elect

Affiliation: Shanghai Mental Health Center, Shanghai Jiao Tong University Medical School, China

Sina Mansour

Hackathon Co-Chair Elect

Affiliation: Department of Psychiatry, The University of Melbourne

Xiangzhen Kong

Open Science Room Co-Chair Elect

Affiliation: Department of Psychology and Behavioral Sciences, Zhejiang University